With just one day away from my departure, it’s time to start packing. I’ve picked up a few last-minute things today (like insect-repellent, a little notebook, a kind of army knife and a rechargeable hand torch), and all I do now is find out if I have to take the bus to the Leiden Centraal trainstation tomorrow morning, or cheat, and park my car near a smaller trainstation along the way to Utrecht. I’ll check out the parking potential of the smaller station. I don’t feel like taking the bus with all that stuff I have to carry with me.

It’s going to be an early night I think (maybe some swimming but not much more). I’ve been walking around all day in my new shoes, but for some reason my feet still hurt when I wear them (and when I’ve worn them!). So I guess I’ll just toughen up when in Sweden and just keep moving.


the little booklet I bought to continue blogging the old fashioned way


a kind of army knife that may not be as helpful as it looks

So, I’m all set and ready to go. I really hope this holiday lifts some of the unpleasantness of the past few weeks and returns me to an open and healthy state of mind. I promised myself a little gift: whenever I begin to dwell on that material, I make myself stop and focus on what I have done that day and what I am going to do in the next few minutes. Briefly thinking about our break-up is allright, but dwelling on it (or on how sorry I am) is not. I hate to direct my feelings, but I think I owe it to her and myself to leave it and move on.

You’ll hear from me at the end of August!

